The Best Taylor Swift Breakup Songs

I previously made a post about the best Taylor Swift wedding songs, so I decided to try the flip side and do a post about the best Taylor Swift breakup songs. It is going to be set up the same way as the T-Swift wedding song post. I am going to have the name of the song, lyrics that represent why it is part of the list, and the music video. I could not get some of the music videos to work so there are some songs that have the link to the video.

 Picture to Burn

I hate that
Stupid old pickup truck
You never let me drive
You’re a redneck heartbreak
Who’s really bad at lying
So watch me strike a match
On all my wasted time
As far as I’m concerned you’re
Just another picture to burn
There’s no time for tears,
I’m just sitting here
Planning my revenge
There’s nothing stopping me
From going out with all of your best friends
And if you come around saying sorry to me
My daddy’s gonna show you how sorry you’ll be

Teardrops On My Guitar

Drew talks to me
I laugh because it’s so damn funny
But I can’t even see
Anyone when he’s with me
He says he’s so in love, he’s finally got it right
I wonder if he knows he’s all I think about at night
He’s the reason for the teardrops on my guitar
The only thing that keeps me wishing on a wishing star
He’s the song in the car
I keep singing, don’t know why I do

Cold As You

You put up the walls and paint them all a shade of gray
And I stood there loving you, and wished them all away
And you come away with a great little story
Of a mess of a dreamer with the nerve to adore you
Oh, what a shame
What a rainy ending given to a perfect day
Just walk away
Ain’t no use defending words that you will never say
And now that I’m sittin’ here thinkin’ it through
I’ve never been anywhere cold as you

Should’ve Said No

Strange to think the songs we used to sing
The smiles, the flowers, everything
Is gone
Yesterday I found out about you
Even now just looking at you
Feels wrong
You say that you’d take it all back
Given one chance; it was a moment of weakness
And you said “yes”
You should’ve said no
You should’ve gone home
You should’ve thought twice before you let it all go
You should’ve known that word like what you did with her
Would get back to me (get back to me)
And I should’ve been there
In the back of your mind
I shouldn’t be asking myself why
You shouldn’t be beggin’ for forgiveness at my feet
You should’ve said no
Baby, and you might still have me

A Perfectly Good Heart

Maybe I should’ve seen the signs, should’ve read the writing on the wall.
And realized by the distance in your eyes that I would be the one to fall.
No matter what you say, I still can’t believe
That you would walk away.
It don’t make sense to me, but:
Why would you wanna break a perfectly good heart?
Why would you wanna take our love and tear it all apart, now?
Why would you wanna make the very first scar?
Why would you wanna break a perfectly good heart?
It’s not unbroken anymore.
How do I get it back the way it was before?

White Horse

Say you’re sorry
That face of an angel
Comes out just when you need it to
As I paced back and forth all this time
‘Cause I honestly believed in you
Holding on
The days drag on
Stupid girl,
I should have known, I should have known
That I’m not a princess, this ain’t a fairy tale
I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet,
Lead her up the stairwell
This ain’t Hollywood, this is a small town,
I was a dreamer before you went and let me down
Now it’s too late for you
And your white horse, to come around

Tell Me Why

I took a chance, I took a shot
And you might think i’m bulletproof, but i’m not
You took a swing, I took it hard
And down here from the ground I see who you are
I’m sick and tired of your attitude
I’m feeling like I don’t know you
You tell me that you love me then you cut me down
And I need you like a heartbeat
But you know you got a mean streak
Makes me run for cover when you’re around
And here’s to you and your temper
Yes, I remember what you said last night
And I know that you see what you’re doing to me
Tell me why..
You could write a book on how to ruin someone’s perfect day
Well I get so confused and frustrated
Forget what i’m trying to say, oh

Forever & Always

Once upon a time, I believe it was a Tuesday when I caught your eye
And we caught onto something
I hold onto the night, you looked me in the eye and told me you loved me

Were you just kidding?
‘Cause it seems to me, this thing is breaking down
We almost never speak
I don’t feel welcome anymore
Baby what happened? Please tell me

‘Cause one second it was perfect, now you’re halfway out the door
And I stare at the phone, he still hasn’t called
And then you feel so low you cant feel nothing at all
And you flashback to when he said forever and always
Oh, and it rains in your bedroom
Everything is wrong
It rains when you’re here and it rains when you’re gone
‘Cause I was there when you said forever and always

Back To December

These days I haven’t been sleeping
Staying up playing back myself leaving
When your birthday passed and I didn’t call
And I think about summer, all the beautiful times
I watched you laughing from the passenger side
And realized I’d loved you in the fall
And then the cold came, the dark days when fear crept into my mind
You gave me all your love and all I gave you was goodbye
So this is me swallowing my pride
Standing in front of you saying I’m sorry for that night
And I go back to December all the time
It turns out freedom ain’t nothing but missing you
Wishing I’d realized what I had when you were mine
I’d go back to December turn around and change my own mind
I go back to December all the time
I miss your tan skin, your sweet smile, so good to me, so right
And how you held me in your arms that September night
The first time you ever saw me cry
Maybe this is wishful thinking
Probably mindless dreaming
But if we loved again I swear I’d love you right
I’d go back in time and change it but I can’t
So if the chain is on your door, I understand

Dear John

Long were the nights when
My days once revolved around you
Counting my footsteps
Praying the floor won’t fall through, again
And my mother accused me of losing my mind
But I swore I was fine
You paint me a blue sky
And go back and turn it to rain
And I lived in your chess game
But you changed the rules everyday
Wonderin’ which version of you I might get on the phone, tonight
Well I stopped pickin’ up and this song is to let you know why
Dear John, I see it all now that you’re gone.
Don’t you think I was too young
To be messed with?
The girl in the dress
Cried the whole way home, I should’ve known.

The Story of Us

I used to think one day we’d tell the story of us
How we met and the sparks flew instantly
People would say, “they’re the lucky ones”
I used to know my place was a spot next to you
Now I’m searching the room for an empty seat
‘Cause lately I don’t even know what page you’re on
Oh, a simple complication
Miscommunications lead to fall out
So many things that I wish you knew
So many walls up I can’t break through
Now I’m standing alone In a crowded room
And we’re not speaking and I’m dying to know
Is it killing you like it’s killing me yeah
I don’t know what to say since the twist of fate
When it all broke down and the story of us
Looks a lot like a tragedy now next chapter

Better Than Revenge

The story starts when it was hot and it was summer and…
I had it all, I had him right there where I wanted him
She came along, got him alone and let’s hear the applause
She took him faster than you could say “sabotage”
I never saw it coming, wouldn’t have suspected it
I underestimated just who I was dealing with
She had to know the pain was beating on me like a drum
She underestimated just who she was stealing from
She’s not a saint
And she’s not what you think
She’s an actress, whoa
She’s better known
For the things that she does
On the mattress, whoa
Soon she’s gonna find
Stealing other people’s toys
On the playground won’t
Make you many friends
She should keep in mind
She should keep in mind
There is nothing I do better than revenge, ha

Last Kiss

I still remember the look on your face
Lit through the darkness at 1:58
The words that you whispered
For just us to know
You told me you loved me
So why did you go
Away
Away
I do recall now
The smell of the rain
Fresh on the pavement
I ran off the plane
That July ninth
The beat of your heart
It jumps through your shirt
I can still feel your arms
But now I’ll go sit on the floor
Wearing your clothes
All that I know is
I don’t know how to be something you missed
Never thought we’d have a last kiss
Never imagined we’d end like this
Your name, forever the name on my lips

Red

Loving him is like driving a new Maserati down a dead-end street
Faster than the wind, passionate as sin ending so suddenly
Loving him is like trying to change your mind once you’re already flying through the free fall
Like the colors in autumn, so bright just before they lose it all

Losing him was blue like I’d never known
Missing him was dark grey all alone
Forgetting him was like trying to know somebody you never met
But loving him was red

Touching him was like realizing all you ever wanted was right there in front of you
Memorizing him was as easy as knowing all the words to your old favorite song
Fighting with him was like trying to solve a crossword and realizing there’s no right answer
Regretting him was like wishing you never found out that love could be that strong
Losing him was blue like I’d never known
Missing him was dark grey all alone
Forgetting him was like trying to know somebody you never met
But loving him was red
Loving him was red

I Knew You Were Trouble

Once upon a time a few mistakes ago
I was in your sights, you got me alone
You found me, you found me, you found me
I guess you didn’t care, and I guess I liked that
And when I fell hard you took a step back
Without me, without me, without me
And he’s long gone when he’s next to me
And I realize the blame is on me
‘Cause I knew you were trouble when you walked in
So shame on me now
Flew me to places I’d never been
‘Til you put me down, oh
I knew you were trouble when you walked in
So shame on me now
Flew me to places I’d never been
Now I’m lying on the cold hard ground
Oh, oh, trouble, trouble, trouble
Oh, oh, trouble, trouble, trouble
No apologies. He’ll never see you cry,
Pretends he doesn’t know that he’s the reason why.
You’re drowning, you’re drowning, you’re drowning.
Now I heard you moved on from whispers on the street
A new notch in your belt is all I’ll ever be
And now I see, now I see, now I see
He was long gone when he met me
And I realize the joke is on me, yeah!

All Too Well

I walked through the door with you, the air was cold,
But something ’bout it felt like home somehow and I
Left my scarf there at your sister’s house,
And you still got it in your drawer even now.
Oh, your sweet disposition and my wide-eyed gaze.
We’re singing in the car, getting lost upstate.
The Autumn leaves falling down like pieces into place,
And I can picture it after all these days.
And I know it’s long gone,
And that magic’s not here no more,
And I might be okay,
But I’m not fine at all.
‘Cause there we are again on that little town street.
You almost ran the red ’cause you were looking over me.
Wind in my hair, I was there, I remember it all too well.

I Almost Do

I bet this time of night you’re still up.
I bet you’re tired from a long hard week.
I bet you’re sitting in your chair by the window looking out at the city.
And I bet sometimes you wonder about me.
And I just wanna tell you
It takes everything in me not to call you.
And I wish I could run to you.
And I hope you know that every time I don’t
I almost do,
I almost do.
I bet you think I either moved on or hate you
‘Cause each time you reach out there’s no reply.
I bet it never ever occurred to you that I can’t say “Hello” to you
And risk another goodbye.
And I just wanna tell you
It takes everything in me not to call you.
And I wish I could run to you.
And I hope you know that every time I don’t
I almost do,
I almost do.

We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

I remember when we broke up the first time
Saying, “This is it, I’ve had enough, ” ’cause like
We hadn’t seen each other in a month
When you said you needed space. (What?)
Then you come around again and say
“Baby, I miss you and I swear I’m gonna change, trust me.”
Remember how that lasted for a day?
I say, “I hate you, ” we break up, you call me, “I love you.”
Ooh, we called it off again last night
But ooh, this time I’m telling you, I’m telling you
We are never ever ever getting back together,
We are never ever ever getting back together,
You go talk to your friends, talk to my friends, talk to me
But we are never ever ever ever getting back together
Like, ever…

Sad Beautiful Tragic 

In dreams, I meet you in warm conversation
We both wake in lonely beds in different cities
And time, is taking its sweet time erasing you
And you’ve got your demons, and darling they all look like me
‘Cause we had a beautiful magic love there
What a sad beautiful tragic love affair
Distance, timing, breakdown, fighting
Silence, this train runs off its tracks
Kiss me, try to fix it, could you just try to listen?
Hang up, give up, for the life of us we can’t get back
A beautiful magic love there
What a sad beautiful tragic, beautiful tragic, beautiful

All You Had To Do Was Stay

Here you are now, calling me up, but I don’t know what to say
I’ve been picking up the pieces of the mess you made
People like you always want back the love they pushed aside
But people like me are gone forever when you say goodbye
Stay, hey, all you had to do was stay
Had me in the palm of your hand
Then, why’d you had to go and lock me out when I let you in
Stay, hey, now you say you want it
Back now that it’s just too late
Well could’ve been easy
All you had to do was stay
All you had to do was stay
All you had to do was stay
All you had to do was stay (Stay, stay, stay)
Let me remind you this was what you wanted (Oh oh oh)
You ended it
You were all I wanted (Oh oh oh)
But not like this
Not like this
Not like this
Oh, all you had to do was stay

Clean

The drought was the very worst
When the flowers that we’d grown together died of thirst
It was months, and months of back and forth
You’re still all over me like a wine-stained dress I can’t wear anymore
Hung my head as I lost the war, and the sky turned black like a perfect storm
Rain came pouring down when I was drowning
That’s when I could finally breathe
And by morning gone was any trace of you,
I think I am finally clean
There was nothing left to do
When the butterflies turned to dust that covered my whole room
So I punched a hole in the roof
Let the flood carry away all my pictures of you
The water filled my lungs, I screamed so loud but no one heard a thing
Rain came pouring down when I was drowning
That’s when I could finally breathe
And by morning, gone was any trace of you,
I think I am finally clean
I think I am finally clean
Said I think I am finally clean

Wonderland

I reached for you but you were gone
I knew I had to go back home
You search the world for something else to make you feel like what we had
And in the end in wonderland we both went mad.
Oh
We found wonderland
You and I got lost in it
And we pretended it could last forever (last forever)
Eh eh
We found wonderland
You and I got lost in it (got lost in it)
And life was never worse but never better (never better)
Eh eh

Leave a Reply

