Songs Written by Taylor Swift for Other Artists

So I was sitting in my car talking to my friend Taylor. She was asking me if I had heard the new song Swift wrote for Little Big Town. When I said I have not, she proceeded to play the song. She then suggested I write a blog post about the songs Swift has written for other artists, so here it is!

“Best Days of Your Life” by Kellie Pickler

“Best Days of Your Life” has to be one of my favorite songs that Kellie Pickler sings. It is a catchy song with a great tune. Pickler states “ Taylor Swift and I actually wrote this song together while we were on tour with Brad Paisley. I had went through a really bad breakup a while back, so we wrote the song about the relationship that went sour. It’s so funny, because Taylor always says that she has the “Picture [to Burn]” song, and Carrie Underwood has “Before He Cheats” … and now “Best Days of Your Life” — that’s my kiss-off song! [My ex] has heard it, and so has the person he’s with now, so I guess it’s bittersweet.” I would just like to thank Kellie’s ex for inspiring this wonderful song!

Read More: Story Behind the Song: Kellie Pickler, ‘Best Days of Your Life’

Music Video: Best Days of Your Life

“You’ll Always Find Your Way Back Home” by Miley Cyrus

It has been a long time since I have heard this song so I had to go listen to it again before I wrote this post. Ranked number 7 on EW’s A definitive ranking of every Hannah Montana song Dylan Kickham ,the writer of the article, states “You’ll Always Find Your Way Back Home” serves as the finale of Hannah Montana: The Movie, and the most memorable song to come from the film. The Taylor Swift-penned country pop song might have been the most Top 40-ready Hannah Montana has ever sounded. Fast, fun, and catchy, “You’ll Always Find Your Way Back Home” is the crowning achievement of Hannah Montana’s later years.” I agree with him. The song is really catchy. It was refreshing compared to the songs that I have heard from Miley Cyrus recently. The song took me back to my Hannah Montana days.

Read More: A definitive ranking of every Hannah Montana song

Music Video: You Will Always Find Your Way Back Home

 

“This Is What You Came For” by Calvin Harris and Rihanna

“This Is What You Came For” is definitely on my playlist this year. I listen to it every other day and it has yet to get old. It is a fun song with a great beat and catchy lyrics. Taylor originally wrote the song under a pseudonym while in a relationship with Harris. She even did a live performance of  the song at her show in Austin. Ryan Middleton states in his review titled Calvin Harris, Rihanna ‘This Is What You Came For’ Review: Pair Follow Up ‘We Found Love’,  “The song starts out with Rihanna’s vocals and mostly cooing with a soft build that “drops” into a steady house, four-on-the-floor rhythm and deep bass stabs, using Rihanna’s voice as the main element for the melody. It doesn’t have the soaring, pop radio synths one might expect from these two, but then again this isn’t 2011 and a simple revamp of “We Found Love,” would be disappointing.” I personally prefer “This Is What You Came For” over “We Found Love.”

Read More: Calvin Harris, Rihanna ‘This Is What You Came For’ Review: Pair Follow Up ‘We Found Love’

Music Video: This Is What You Came For

“Better Man” by Little Big Town

The last song that I am going to talk about is the most recent that Taylor has written. This song actually inspired this post. The song is “Better Man” by Little Big Town. In an article from Sounds Like Nashville written by Lauren Jo Black, Little Big Town states, “We’ve been telling you guys… some of you have been asking and we told you that there was a young girl from Nashville that wrote it by herself and it’s Taylor Swift,” explained Fairchild. “She sent us this song and it was one that was really special to her and she thought of us because of the harmonies. She’s never pitched a song to somebody before. The moment that we heard it, we were like ‘man, that is the song that we’re gonna cut. Immediately, we all had the same reaction,” added Sweet. “We’ve always, through our whole career, any time we’ve had that reaction to a song, we knew it felt right. This one just felt special and we’ve known Taylor since she was in high school. She’s a dear friend of ours.” “Better Man” is an amazing song. I have a feeling that I will be playing it 24/7 which is going to drive my family insane.

Read More: Little Big Town Reveals Taylor Swift as ‘Better Man’ Songwriter

Music Video: Better Man

Leave a Reply

