The Eagles

I think that it is very clear through my blog that Taylor Swift is my hero, but in this post I would like to talk about the band that my mom loved at my age, the one and only Eagles. Now, I do not think it is understood how big of a fan my mom is of this band. I stated in an earlier post that my mom had me early so she could attend one of their shows. If that is not a true fan I do not know what is. I am honestly surprised my name is not Henley, which I would prefer.

NYT article

screenshot_2016-11-06-17-16-462.jpg.jpg

The Eagles were founded in the city of Los Angeles in 1971 by Glenn Frey and the drummer and singer Don Henley. They were in the musical spotlight for almost ten years, releasing numerous hits that defined a post-Beach Boys California pop in the midst of an era that otherwise gave birth to both disco and punk.

The band desided to call it quits in the 1980s. They decided to get back together fourteen years later, which was the reason my mom gave birth to me early. Their early success got them inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1989. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame website states the Eagles sold more records than any other band in the 1970s. They had four consecutive No. 1 albums, five No. 1 singles and their Greatest Hits 1971-1975 album alone sold upward of 26 million copies.

On January 18,2016, Glenn Frey passed away. An announcement on the band’s website said the cause was complications of rheumatoid arthritis, acute ulcerative colitis and pneumonia. Glenn Frey was a guitarist, a singer, and a songwriter. He was one of the founders of the Eagles. An article in the New York Times about The Eagles states, “Their country-tinged, melodic rock tunes, wistful love ballads, philosophical anthems, observations of the outlaw life and testaments to the wages of decadence made it perhaps the leading American band of the 1970s.” After Mr.Frey died, The Eagles initially decided not to tour again. They have since decided that if Glenn Frey’s son, Deacon, agreed to play his father’s parts, they would consider touring. I for one hope that they do because I would love to see the remaining members of this iconic band live.

Leave a Reply

