Why You Gotta Be So Mean?

Taylor Swift is a super star. She is known as America’s sweetheart, but did you know that she was bullied in school? Hard to believe, right? In an article for People Magazine, Swift states, “The kids at school thought it was weird that I liked country [music]. They’d make fun of me”.  In her song ‘The Best Day‘ she sings, ” I’m thirteen now and don’t know how my friends could be so mean…I don’t know who I’m gonna talk to now at school”. She eventually moved to Hendersonville, Tennessee, where she attended high school and met her best friend Abigail. They are still friends to this day!

Image result for taylor swift and abigail high schoolImage result for taylor swift and abigail 2016

Why in the world am I talking about Taylor Swift being bullied in middle school you ask? Well, to answer your question, bullying is a huge problem. Not just in school, but everywhere we go. Not only do we have magazines trying to get as much money as possible by selling stories that have been twisted to make people look worse than they are, we now have social media which makes it easy to cyber bully someone.

Image result for cyber bullying 2016

After having a horrible article written about her, Taylor Swift came out with the ultimate anti-bullying song, Mean. In an interview with Jay Leno, Swift states, “But I actually wrote the song about a critic that kept giving me really bad reviews…And then there’s like the scathing review, that’s kind of past constructive criticism and is more into ‘I hate you’ territory.” It wasn’t until I saw that interview that I realized how much the media really does bully. Instead of writing about things that are important, they do all that they can to find some kind of unimportant story or gossip that they know will sell.   

Image result for magazine taylor swift being mean

Leave a Reply

